Briana Ryan, SCJ president (left), and Autumn Bohner (right)

Society for Collegiate Journalists Chapter Wins Multiple Awards at National Contest

Marywood University’s Chapter of the Society for Collegiate Journalists (SCJ) recently won multiple first, second, third, and honorable mention awards at the Society for Collegiate Journalists National 2021 Contest.

Thomas Kerrigan, Clarks Green, Pa., won first place in the category of Feature Photography for his photo, “Goat Yoga;” and Emily Scholl, Quakertown, Pa., Jenny Ngyuen, Scranton, Pa., and Michael Basta won first place for their Multimedia Series titled, “Media That Matters.”

Second Place was awarded to The Wood Word, Marywood University’s online student-run newspaper; Sydney Toy, Carbondale, Pa., for her Enterprise Series titled, “Border Stories (Part 1 and II)”; Ellen Frantz, Camp Hill, Pa., and Briana Ryan, Shenandoah, Pa., for their Beat Reporting; and Eric Spivak, Scranton, Pa., for the Column or Commentary category.

Third place winners include Michael Basta, Pittston Pa., in the category of News Photography; Ellen Frantz for News Story; Brendan Murphy, Stroudsburg, Pa., for Sports News; Thomas Kerrigan, Ellen Frantz, and Marli Hoskins, Moosic, Pa., for the category of Television News Package; and the TV Marywood Staff (TVM) in the category of Television Commercial/PSA, for the “Stay Home: A Public Service Announcement.”

Honorable Mentions were awarded to The Wood Word in the category of Social Media Presence Overall Excellence; Jennifer Flynn, Cranford, N.J., in the category of Infographic for “Covid19 precautions and subsequent student survey sheds light on campus”; Emily Scholl, Justin Kucharski, Olyphant, Pa., and Megan Reynolds, Moscow, Pa., for Multimedia Series; Elizabeth Deroba, Bloomsburg, Pa., for Enterprise Series; and Emma Rushworth, Tunkhannock, Pa., Ellen Frantz, Erin Kane, Scranton, Pa., Richard Andrus, Honeoye Falls, N.Y., and Michael Basta, for Television News Package.

Senior SCJ Chapter students Briana Ryan, SCJ president, and current editor-in-chief at The Wood Word, received the Medal of Merit, and Certificates of Merit were presented to Autumn Bohner, Domsife, Pa., digital content lead designer at The Wood Word, and Justin Kucharski, SJ secretary and former editor-in-chief at The Wood Word.

The Society for Collegiate Journalists is the nation’s oldest honor society for student media leaders. Journalism is a foundation of democracy, and, to ensure its future, SCJ focuses on professional development at the collegiate level. SCJ advances ethical, accurate, and innovative collegiate journalism nationally and creates a strong network of advocates for First Amendment education. Lindsey Wotanis, Ph.D., president of the National SCJ Board, serves as advisor for the SCJ Chapter at Marywood University, which, to date, has inducted more than 100 students to its SCJ Chapter.