Society of Collegiate Journalists Chapter Members

Communication Arts Students Win National Awards

The University’s Chapter of the Society for Collegiate Journalists (SCJ) took home sixteen awards and an honorable mention in the national contest for students’ work at The Wood Word, Marywood University’s online news source, and TV-Marywood, the campus television station.

In addition to first place awards to The Wood Word for Online News Website Overall Excellence, and TV-Marywood for Companion Broadcast Website Overall Excellence, first place awards were presented to: Rachel Looker and Alex Weidner for their Multimedia News Story; Jessica Bonacci and Manfid Duran for their Multimedia Series; Rachel Looker and Brooke Williams for their Breaking News; Alex Weidner for his Feature; and Rachel Looker and John Ferraro for their Sports Feature.

Manfid Duran, Bethany Wade, and John Ferraro were presented with second place for their Multimedia Series; and third place awards were presented to: Dylan Wright for his Multimedia Series; Rachel Looker for her News Story; Jessica Bonacci, Rachel Looker, and Brooke Williams for their Continuing Coverage; John Ferraro for Sports News; Bethany Wade for News Photography; Jessica Bonacci for Feature Photography; Bethany Wade for Commercial, Promotion and Public Announcement; and TV-Marywood for Television News Show Overall Excellence. An Honorable Mention was awarded to Alex Weidner for News Photography.

The Society for Collegiate Journalists is a National Society of Collegiate Mass Communications. It is the nation’s oldest organization designed solely to serve college media leaders. Today, SCJ has approximately 100 active chapters nationwide and more than 1,200 members.

For additional information about The Wood Word or TV-Marywood, please visit the Center for Multimedia Communication.For additional information on the Society for College Journalists, please visit

Pictured are (seated left to right): Dylan Wright, Carbondale, Pa., senior digital media major; Brooke Williams, Jessup, Pa., senior broadcast journalism major; and Rachel Looker, Blandon, Pa., senior broadcast journalism/digital media major. (Standing left to right): Jessica Bonacci, Dickson City, Pa., senior digital media major; Bethany Wade, Bear, Del., senior digital media major; Alex Weidner East Greenville, Pa., senior digital media major; and John Ferraro, Dickson City, Pa., Communication Arts graduate student. Absent from photo: Manfid Duran, Doylestown, Pa., senior digital media major.