Safe Zone Support

A place where students can talk to an adult in a non-judgmental environment, receive support, and get connected to the resources they need to succeed is a Safe Zone. Marywood University aims to be a safe, empowering, and affirming place for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, & queer (LGBTQ+) students, faculty, & staff.


Safe Zone Training

Safe Zone Training is a dynamic, interactive session for faculty & staff that includes activities & discussion around the following topics: inclusive and respectful language, the process of coming out, understanding sexual and gender identity, taking action on our campus, where to go for help and much more. This session will give participants the skills they need to provide support and to create environments that are safe, welcoming, and inclusive for LGBTQ+ students and colleagues.

Safe Zone Training sessions will be offered periodically throughout the academic year. Additionally, all Orientation Leaders, Resident Assistants, and Counseling/Student Development Center Staff are Safe Zone trained each year.

Advocate Training

Advocate Training is the student version of Safe Zone and can be requested for student organizations, athletic teams, classes, Greek organizations, or additional student groups. Contact Michael Kalage to schedule a Safe Zone or Advocate Training session for your department, organization, class, and/or team, or to ask any questions you might have.

Schedule a Training


Sexuality and Gender Alliance (SAGA)

Students wishing to get involved as a member of the LGBTQ+ community or as an ally are encouraged to join the Sexuality and Gender Alliance (SAGA). This student group meets biweekly (meeting times TBD for the Fall Semester) to socialize, plan events, and discuss issues facing the community.

Learn More about SAGA


All Marywood faculty & staff are encouraged to include their pronouns in the email signature.

Claim your custom Marywood-branded Gmail Signature

Why are pronouns important? Check out the articles below to learn more!

Creating an LGBTQ+ Friendly Campus

A Pronoun Is A Powerful Thing When It Comes To Identity And Acceptance

5 Ways To Make The Office More Welcoming For People Of All Gender Identities

Students who need assistance or who want to get involved in the community can reach out to these local organizations:

NEPA Rainbow Alliance


The NEPA Rainbow Alliance provides education, support, and advocacy for LGBTQIA individuals and families while working to advance fairness and equality.

Queer NEPA

Queer NEPA stands on a wholly intersectional platform of community building, education, and advocacy in Northeastern Pennsylvania (NEPA).

Students in crisis are encouraged to use the following resources that can be reached from anywhere in the country:

The Trevor Project


The Trevor Project is the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer & questioning (LGBTQ) young people under 25.

Trans Lifeline


Need to talk? Call! This peer support hotline is run by and for trans people. They’re available 7am-1am PST / 9am-3am CST / 10am-4am EST. Volunteers may be available during off hours.

Crisis Text Line


Crisis Text Line is free, 24/7 support for those in crisis. Text 741741 from anywhere in the US to text with a trained Crisis Counselor.

The below list indicates Marywood faculty & staff members who have completed Safe Zone training and are ready & able to support LGBTQ+ students in times of need.

  • Kaitlin Anderle, Director of Student Disability Services
  • Todd Ardan, Campus Safety
  • Rachel Baldini, Dance Team Coach
  • Dr. Paul Ballard, Assistant Provost for Student Success
  • Dr. Jennifer Barna, Psychology & Counseling Department
  • Dr. Marie Bonavoglia, Physician Assistant Department
  • Hannah Brown, Financial Aid
  • Dr. Christina Brundage, Career Development Center
  • Stephanie Campo, College of Professional Studies
  • Frank Carey, Music Theater & Dance Department
  • Antonia Cerda-Bevan, Advising & Retention
  • Patrick Cowley, School of Education
  • Richard Cox, Marketing
  • Dr. Joshua Deckman, Communication, Language, and Literature Department
  • Renee DePietro, Campus Safety
  • Lea Dougherty, Social Work Department
  • Dr. Jeanine Engelmann, Exercise Science Department
  • Christina Gigler, School of Social Work
  • Jenny Gonzalez Monge, STARS Program
  • Juneann Greco, Marketing
  • Lawrence Hahn, Mathematics & Computer Science Department
  • Rachel Hartz, Director of Undergraduate Admissions
  • Dr. B. Lynn Hutchings, School of Social Work
  • Sue Jenkins, Art Department
  • Michelle Ketten, Advising & Career Development
  • Ashley Kruchinsky, Marketing
  • Dr. Chunchao Lane, Mathematics & Computer Science Department
  • Chesla Lenkaitis, Communication, Language, and Literature Department
  • Courene Loftus, Research & Sponsored Programs
  • Tara Lopatofsky, African Sisters Education Collaborative
  • Margaret Matthias, Registrar's Office
  • Dr. Christine McCarthy, Religious Studies Department
  • Ernie Mengoni, Communication, Language, and Literature Department
  • Christina Menn, Admissions
  • Jennifer Mercereau, School of Education
  • Sr. Christine Mihelich,IHM English Department
  • Dr. Lindsay Morton, Psychology & Counseling Department
  • Dr. Janet Muse-Burke, Psychology & Counseling Department
  • Ross Novak, Dean of Students
  • Dr. Amy Paciej-Woodruff, School of Education
  • Kim Padden, Human Resources
  • Derek Parker, Psychology & Counseling Department
  • Dr. Heidi Peters, Exercise Science Department
  • Kimberly Petro, Communication, Language, and Literature Department
  • Mary Reggie, Human Resources
  • Brandice Ricciardi, Counseling & Student Development Center
  • Dr. Lia Richards-Palmiter, School of Social Work
  • Dr. David Romines, Music Theater & Dance Department
  • Karen Rossmell, Psychology & Counseling Department
  • Larissa Schwass, Counseling & Student Development Center
  • Rebecca Sesky, Certification Officer
  • Marcia Shaffer, Library Services
  • Rosemary Shaver, African Sisters Education Collaborative
  • Maura Smith, Director of Student Health Services
  • Dr. Kevin Snow, Psychology & Counseling Department
  • Dr. Susan Turell, Psychology & Counseling Department
  • Keshia Vilchert, Equity and Inclusion
  • Christa Vinciguerra, Marketing
  • Deborah Wardach, Science Department
  • Susan Wilkerson, Counseling & Student Development Center
  • Jay Yander, Director of Graduate Admissions
  • Dr. Frances Zauhar, English Department
  • Haleigh Zurek, Student Engagement