Winter '17-'18

Honors and Awards

President Honored at SAGE Awards

Sage Award pictureOn Friday, November 11, Sister Anne Munley, IHM, President of Marywood University, was awarded the "Woman of Excellence" award at the annual Scranton Awards for Growth and Excellence, or SAGE Awards. Established by the Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce to recognize community and business leaders, the SAGE Awards, according to Go Lackawanna, "raise the profile of the good things being done in the area's business community."

Accepting her award at Lackawanna College's Mellow Theater, Sister Anne said, "I accept this award on behalf of the entire Marywood University community, remembering all of those who led the way to strengthen and build this University into the educational leader it is today. Marywood's progress and excellence flow from a continuum of success, guided by a dynamic mission and enduring core values."

Awards were given in other categories such as "People's Choice," "Young Entrepreneur of the Year," and "Pride and Progress." There were many Marywood graduates in attendance who also earned awards or honorable mentions.

Pictured above, from left: Natalie O'Hara, President of MetroAction; Laurie Schwager, Vice President of Wells Fargo Bank; Sister Anne Munley; and Paula Rochon Mackarey ’93, Chair of the Greater Scranton Chamber of Commerce


Sister Margaret Gannon, IHM, Merits Ethics Award

Ethis Award photoThe Ethics Institute of Northeastern Pennsylvania at Misericordia University recognized Sister Margaret Gannon, IHM, Ph.D., Professor of History and Chair of the Department of Social Sciences at Marywood University, for her “grassroots ethical leadership’’ at the 20th annual Ethics Institute Dinner on October 27. Sister Margaret was presented with the 2011 Sister Siena Finley, RSM, Ethics Award, along with Sister Anne Paye, RSM, Ph.D., Founder of the Catherine McAuley Center in Lackawanna County, who also merited the award.
Throughout her career, Sister Margaret has been a strong advocate for peace, justice, diversity, women, and people of the developing world. In addition to her teaching and scholarly contributions to her field, she serves on the Board of Directors of the African Sisters Education Collaborative and is a former Director of the United Neighborhood Centers of Lackawanna County. Sister Margaret is also the Founder and former Director of the Theresa Maxis Center for Justice and Peace.

Pictured above: Back row, from left - Dr. Alexandru Vari, Dr. Freddotcmsdbuser Fagal, Dr. Walter Broughton, Dr. Patrick Seffrin, Dr. Michael Alan Foley, Mr. Michael Freund, Dr. William Conlogue, Dr. Erin A. Sadlack

Front row, from left - Dr. Kathleen Munley, Sister Margaret Gannon, Dr. Agnes Cardoni, Dr. Shamshad Ahmed and Sister John Michele Southwick, IHM


Marywood Honored with Eagan Award

The Lackawanna Bar Association recently presented the Michael J. Eagan award to Marywood University for its contributions to community, with special recognition for Marywood’s significant role in the education of environmentally-aware and responsible individuals. Upon acceptance of the award, Sister Anne Munley, IHM, President, noted, “Those of you who have spent any amount of time living or working in Lackawanna County—especially those of you who are Marywood graduates—know well our longstanding commitment to sustainability and environmental stewardship. The community of Northeast Pennsylvania is important to Marywood University and always has been. We will continue to be a good neighbor, a community partner, an environmental steward, and, of course, an educational leader.”


Dr. O’Brien Merits Major Psychology Award

Edward O'BrienEdward O’Brien, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of Psychology and Counseling at Marywood University, is the 2012 recipient of the Pennsylvania Psychological Association’s “Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Science and/or Profession of Psychology.”

The award—given annually to a Pennsylvania psychologist for outstanding and/or professional achievement in areas of expertise related to psychology, including teaching, research, clinical work, and publications—is a ringing endorsement of Dr. O’Brien’s significant influence in the field of psychology.

The awards committee, which included seven past presidents of PPA, voted unanimously to bestow the award on Dr. O’Brien. "The whole experience has just been very humbling," Dr. O'Brien said. "I'm just trying to find a way to understand how my name will be on the same list as people I have admired my whole life."


2011 Faculty Awards

Two Marywood University faculty members were recognized at the University’s Fall Convocation for their distinguished work in academics.

Sister Anne with Art ComstockArthur Comstock, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Business, is Marywood’s 2011-2012 nominee for Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) award. In 1981, CASE initiated the Professors of the Year Program, naming one national winner per year until 1985, when state winners were also named. Dr. Comstock has taught at the University for more than 12 years.

“It’s an honor,” said Dr. Comstock, after learning that he would be Marywood’s honoree. “It’s nice to be recognized for what you do. I take pride in what I do in the classroom, and I try to make class material meaningful to the students.”

Craig Johnson with Sister AnneCraig Johnson, Ph.D., was also recognized for his work, earning him the Distinction in One’s Discipline Award. Dr. Johnson, Professor of Mathematics, actively publishes. His recent article in Mathematics Teacher, “Introducing Group Theory through Music,” demonstrates how theoretical models in math can illuminate one’s understanding of musical compositions. In addition, Dr. Johnson’s textbook, Functions of Mathematics in the Liberal Arts, will soon be published by Jones and Bartlett Publishers.

McGowan Awards

Dr. James and Mrs. Mary Lou Burne were recognized with the Cornerstone Award for their exemplary community service during the fifth annual Monsignor Andrew J. McGowan Cornerstone Award Gala held at the Center for Architectural Studies on the Marywood University campus. The Cornerstone Award was designed by several nonprofit organizations to honor the memory of Monsignor Andrew J. McGowan’s service and dedication to the people of Northeastern Pennsylvania. His legacy of spirit, leadership, and service inspires those who were touched by his desire to improve the community for years to come.

The Burne’s Family-to-Family Food Basket Program has provided meals for over 325,000 people and celebrated its 25th Anniversary this year. Sister Adrian Barrett, IHM, Founder of Friends of the Poor, served as the Honorary Chair of the Cornerstone Committee. A close friend of the Burne family, she said, “Dr. James and Mrs. Mary Lou Burne and their family are the epitome of gracious giving. Their dedication to the Family-To-Family Program shared with the community is one of compassion, concern, and conscientious giving for those in need."

In addition to the Cornerstone Award, seven Monsignor McGowan Cornerstone Scholarships were also presented to students at schools and institutions where Monsignor devoted his time and service. The scholarship awards are given to students to encourage them to continue Monsignor’s work and service for the improvement of our community.  Marywood University’s student scholar was Michelle Ann Banta '12, a senior Education/Special Education major who is devoted to community service.

comments powered by Disqus
2300 Adams Avenue, Scranton, PA 18509
570-348-6211 | toll free: 1-TO-MARYWOOD
Copyright © 2021 by Marywood University. All rights reserved.
Sponsored by Sisters, Servants of Immaculate Heart of Mary