Leadership Awards

The Fourth Annual Student Leadership Awards Ceremony

Thursday, April 16th through Friday, April 24th, 2020 | Marywood University Facebook Page

To nominate yourself, a student, a student organization, or the advisor of a student organization, submit this form.

Who can submit nominations? Any current Marywood student or faculty/staff member.

Nominations due by Sunday, March 8th.

Questions? Contact Michael at mkalage@marywood.edu.

Advisor of the Year

This award is also open to coaches. If a coach is selected as the recipient, the award will say "Coach of the Year"

​This recognition will be presented to the faculty/staff advisor of a recognized student club/organization or coach of a varsity sport who goes above and beyond for the group of students they advise or coach, has motivated the club or team to make positive contributions to the Marywood community, and supports and encourages them in whatever way they can. ​

2018: Barb Decker

2019: Andrea Novak

Award for Exceptional Leadership in Athletics

This award will recognize an undergraduate student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership skills, possesses a strong sense of teamwork, and has displayed a profound dedication to the Marywood Athletics program. This student must be a well-rounded individual, balancing athletic involvement, academic achievement, and a strong moral character. The student must be a Varsity Athlete.

2018: Alexa Scala

2019: Julie Youngman

Community Service Award

The Community Service Award will be presented to an undergraduate student, graduate student, or student organization which best honors and supports Marywood’s core value of Service: a commitment to promoting social responsibility which fosters community engagement to meet real needs. Nominations must include specific examples of how the student/organization has benefited the community.

2018: Jessica Burkovich & Gianna DelleRose

2019: Dakota Hardick

Event of the Year

This recognition will be presented to the student organization, team, or University office which organized the most successful or impactful program during the 2019-2020 academic year. Programs which were philanthropic, awareness-raising, social, educational, diversity-based, or entertaining will all be considered. Nominations must clearly explain why the program was a success, what its purpose was, and its value to Marywood or the community.

2018: Perfectly Imperfect Week- hosted by POW

2019: National Coming Out Day - hosted by SAC

Fishbowl Award

This award will recognize a Resident Assistant, undergraduate or graduate, who has role-modeled leadership, respect, teamwork, community building, and commitment to service to students. This student must also have demonstrated an ability to balance Resident Assistant roles and responsibilities with academic achievement and a strong moral character. 

2018: Zach Lowe

2019: Massiel Velez

Kim Coleman Student Organization of the Year

This award will be presented to a recognized student organization who has made a positive impact on Marywood through their leadership, programming, service, or other activities. Nominations must include specific instances of how this club has benefitted the University, its students, and the community.

2018: Peers on Wellness

2019: Speech & Hearing Club

Outstanding Graduate Student

This award will recognize a graduate student who has made positive contributions to the University through leadership roles and involvement, mentoring, publishing work or presenting at conferences, community service, employment, or participation in professional associations.

2018: Allison Fruehan

2019: Jeffrey Siemion

Outstanding Senior Leader

This award will be presented to an undergraduate student who has completed 90 or more credits, and throughout their years at Marywood have proven themselves to be a capable and committed leader through their involvement, achievement, academics, service, and beyond.

2018: Nicole Coombs

2019: Ryan Calamia

Pacer Pride Award

The Pacer Pride Award will be presented to an undergraduate student who demonstrates a strong love for Marywood in their everyday life, creates positive experiences for fellow students, participates in organizations, University events, or community outreach, and promotes the mission and values of the University.

2018: Brandon Morley

2019: Beth Ulicny & Matt Catanzaro

People's Choice Award

​This award is open to anyone on campus that brightens the day of everyone they come across, goes above and beyond to help others or be kind, and makes Marywood University a better place to learn, live, or work.

Sister John Award for Acceptance & Inclusion

This award will be presented to an undergraduate or graduate student who embraces diversity and promotes inclusion and acceptance in their everyday life and interactions. The student will know what it means to be an ally to any marginalized community and use their voice to speak up for others. Overall, the student should exemplify Marywood’s core value of Respect: Honoring the uniqueness and dignity of each human person.

2018: Mikayla Attwood

2019: Madison Harm

Sister Mary Persico Emerging Leader Award

This award will be presented to an undergraduate student who has completed less than 90 credits, and in their time at Marywood has already established themselves as a leader. This may have been achieved through involvement in student organizations, volunteer work, achievement in academics, or any other number of ways which can prove their potential and intent to continue to grow into an even stronger leader.

2018: Chloe Wiggins

2019: Christian Scotti & Lexi Palys

Student Veteran Excellence in Leadership

This award will recognize a student veteran who has demonstrated exemplary leadership and academic abilities, a strong commitment to service, and who makes outreach to their fellow students a priority in their daily lives. ​

2019: Tyler McAlpine