Public Administration

Master of Public Administration (MPA)

  • Convenient, fully online program
  • Concentrations in nonprofit management, homeland security, health services administration, social work, and criminal justice
  • Focus on both theories and their practical applications

« See All Degrees

 
Public Administration at Marywood

Marywood's 30-credit online MPA program emphasizes both administrative theories and the practical skills necessary to apply those theories to the challenges that confront public and nonprofit administrators. Coursework is research-focused, which encourages students to think critically about public policy issues.

Convenient, Fully Online Program

All classes are delivered online to make them convenient for working professionals. Weekly assignments can be completed at your own pace, and you can pursue your degree full- or part-time. Textbooks are provided free of charge.

Six Concentrations for Focused Study

You can choose from six concentrations, depending on your interest:

  • General public administration
  • Nonprofit management
  • Homeland security and disaster management
  • Health services administration
  • Social work
  • Criminal justice

More About This Degree

Staff

Dr. Deborah Hokien

Dr. Deborah Hokien

Program Director, Ph.D. Program in Administration & Leadership/MPA
(570) 348-6279
hokien@marywood.edu

Traci Greening

Secretary Part-time, Ph.D. Program
(570) 348-4752
tgreening@maryu.marywood.edu

Teaching Faculty

Dr. Art Comstock

Dr. Art Comstock

Associate Professor, Business/Global Innovation
(570) 348-6211 x2449
comstock@marywood.edu
Dr. Alice McDonnell

Dr. Alice McDonnell

Full Professor, Administrative Studies
(570) 348-6211 X 2406
mcdonnell@marywood.edu
Sr. Gail Cabral

Sr. Gail Cabral

Full Professor, Psychology/Counseling
(570) 348-6211 X2346
cabral@marywood.edu
Dr. Alexander Dawoody

Dr. Alexander Dawoody

Assistant Professor, Administrative Studies
adawoody@marywood.edu
Dr. Lee Harrison

Dr. Lee Harrison

Full Professor, Nutrition/Dietetics
(570) 348-2611 X2303
harrisonl@marywood.edu
Dr. Philip Jenkins

Dr. Philip Jenkins

Associate Professor, Philosophy
(570) 348-6211 X2972
pjenkins@marywood.edu
Dr. Alan Levine

Dr. Alan Levine

Full Professor, Nutrition & Dietetics
(570) 348-6290
levine@marywood.edu
Dr. Erin O'Hora

Dr. Erin O'Hora

Lecturer, Nutrition & Dietetics
(570) 961-4556
eohora@marywood.edu
Dr. Amy Paciej Woodruff

Dr. Amy Paciej Woodruff

Assistant Professor, Coordinator, MS Higher Education Administration Program
Ext. 2318
apaciej@marywood.edu
Dr. Joseph A. Polizzi

Dr. Joseph A. Polizzi

Associate Professor, Education
(570) 348-6211 X 2497
japolizzi@marywood.edu
Dr. Karen Rich

Dr. Karen Rich

Associate Professor, School of Social Work/Administrative Studies
(570) 348-6211 X2395
krich@marywood.edu
Dr. Lia Richards Palmiter

Dr. Lia Richards Palmiter

Director of Diversity, Lecturer,, Administration & Leadership
lpalmiter@marywood.edu

Dr. Pietro Sasso

Lecturer (Adjunct), Administration & Leadership
pasasso@marywood.edu
Dr. Christopher J. Speicher

Dr. Christopher J. Speicher

Associate Professor, School Business/Global Innovation, Organizational Leadership
(570) 348-6211 X2666
chrisspeicher@marywood.edu

Dr. Matthew Caputo

Lecturer (Adjunct), Administration & Leadership
mcaputo@marywood.edu
Dr. Diane DellaValle

Dr. Diane DellaValle

Associate Professor, Nutrition & Dietetics
(570) 348-6211 X2477
ddellavalle@marywood.edu
John M. Hart, III, Esq.

John M. Hart, III, Esq.

Lecturer (Adjunct), Administration & Leadership
(570) 689-1529
jmhart@marywood.edu

Dr. John Risboskin

Lecturer (Adjunct), Education
risboskin@marywood.edu

Dr. Richard Clark

Lecturer (Adjunct), Education
rclark@marywood.edu
Dr. Lori Swanchak

Dr. Lori Swanchak

Clinical Director, Physician Assistant
(570) 961-4711
swanchak@marywood.edu
This is just a sample of our Social Sciences faculty - see them all!

A master's degree in public administration from Marywood will prepare you for a career in a variety of fields:

  • Local, state, and national government
  • Nonprofit
  • Healthcare
  • Social services
  • Law enforcement
  • Education

Graduate Admissions Requirements

  • Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university
  • “B” average during undergraduate study or demonstrated potential for graduate work
  • Completed application
  • Essay
  • Official, sealed transcripts
  • Two or three letters of recommendation

Find Your Counselor

Jay Yander

Associate Director for Graduate Admissions
yander@marywood.edu
Phone: 570-348-6211 ext 2368

Office of University Admissions, Liberal Arts Center