Academic Programs of Study

Public Administration

Master of Public Administration (MPA)

  • Convenient, fully online program
  • Concentrations in nonprofit management, homeland security, health services administration, social work, and criminal justice
  • Focus on both theories and their practical applications

« See All Degrees

 
Public Administration at Marywood

Marywood's 30-credit online MPA program emphasizes both administrative theories and the practical skills necessary to apply those theories to the challenges that confront public and nonprofit administrators. Coursework is research-focused, which encourages students to think critically about public policy issues.

Convenient, Fully Online Program

All classes are delivered online to make them convenient for working professionals. Weekly assignments can be completed at your own pace, and you can pursue your degree full- or part-time. Textbooks are provided free of charge.

Six Concentrations for Focused Study

You can choose from six concentrations, depending on your interest:

  • General public administration
  • Nonprofit management
  • Homeland security and disaster management
  • Health services administration
  • Social work
  • Criminal justice

More About This Degree

Staff

Administrative Assistant

Ph.D. Program

Teaching Faculty

Photo of Dr. Art Comstock

Dr. Art Comstock

Associate Professor, Business/Global Innovation
(570) 348-6211 x2449
comstock@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Deborah Hokien

Dr. Deborah Hokien

Professor, Ph.D. Program in Administration & Leadership/MPA
(570) 348-6279
hokien@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Alice McDonnell

Dr. Alice McDonnell

Full Professor, Administrative Studies
(570) 348-6211 X 2406
mcdonnell@marywood.edu

Dr. Tammy Brown

Associate Professor, Education
tammybrown@maryu.marywood.edu
Photo of Sr. Gail Cabral

Sr. Gail Cabral

Full Professor, Psychology/Counseling
(570) 348-6211 X2346
cabral@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Lee Harrison

Dr. Lee Harrison

Full Professor, Nutrition/Dietetics
(570) 348-2611 X2303
harrisonl@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Philip Jenkins

Dr. Philip Jenkins

Associate Professor, Philosophy
(570) 348-6211 X2972
pjenkins@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Alan Levine

Dr. Alan Levine

Full Professor, Nutrition & Dietetics
(570) 348-6290
levine@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Erin O'Hora

Dr. Erin O'Hora

Lecturer, Nutrition & Dietetics
(570) 961-4556
eohora@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Amy Paciej Woodruff

Dr. Amy Paciej Woodruff

Assistant Professor, Coordinator, MS Higher Education Administration Program
Ext. 2318
apaciej@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Joseph A. Polizzi

Dr. Joseph A. Polizzi

Associate Professor, Education
(570) 348-6211 X 2497
japolizzi@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Karen Rich

Dr. Karen Rich

Associate Professor, School of Social Work/Administrative Studies
(570) 348-6211 X2395
krich@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Lia Richards Palmiter

Dr. Lia Richards Palmiter

Director of Diversity, Lecturer,, Administration & Leadership
lpalmiter@marywood.edu

Dr. Pietro Sasso

Lecturer (Adjunct), Administration & Leadership
pasasso@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Christopher J. Speicher

Dr. Christopher J. Speicher

Associate Professor, School Business/Global Innovation, Organizational Leadership
(570) 348-6211 X2666
chrisspeicher@marywood.edu

Dr. Matthew Caputo

Lecturer (Adjunct), Administration & Leadership
mcaputo@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Diane DellaValle

Dr. Diane DellaValle

Associate Professor, Nutrition & Dietetics
(570) 348-6211 X2477
ddellavalle@marywood.edu
Photo of John M. Hart, III, Esq.

John M. Hart, III, Esq.

Lecturer (Adjunct), Administration & Leadership
(570) 689-1529
jmhart@marywood.edu

Dr. John Risboskin

Lecturer (Adjunct), Education
risboskin@marywood.edu

Dr. Richard Clark

Lecturer (Adjunct), Education
rclark@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Lori Swanchak

Dr. Lori Swanchak

Clinical Director, Physician Assistant
(570) 961-4711
swanchak@marywood.edu
This is just a sample of our Social Sciences faculty - see them all!

A master's degree in public administration from Marywood will prepare you for a career in a variety of fields:

  • Local, state, and national government
  • Nonprofit
  • Healthcare
  • Social services
  • Law enforcement
  • Education

Graduate Admissions Requirements

  • Bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited college or university
  • “B” average during undergraduate study or demonstrated potential for graduate work
  • Completed application
  • Essay
  • Official, sealed transcripts
  • Two or three letters of recommendation

Find Your Counselor

Lauren Tokash

Graduate Admissions Counselor
ltokash@marywood.edu
Phone: 570-348-6211 ext 2271

About me: I joined the Marywood Admissions team in February 2018.  I graduated from The Pennsylvania State University in 2014 with a Bachelor of Science in Human Development and Family Studies and a minor in Psychology.  I was born and raised in Moscow, PA and currently reside in Jermyn, PA with my husband and our dog, Copper.

My interests: I love to be with my family and friends!  During the summer I spend most of my free time on my family’s boat at Lake Wallenpaupack.  It truly is one of my favorite places to be. I also enjoy doing anything outdoors, traveling, and venturing to new places to eat.

My favorite thing about Marywood:  Everyone is so pleasant and welcoming.  From the faculty and staff to the students, you can’t walk around campus without getting a friendly hello.  

My favorite place at Marywood: The entire campus at Marywood is beautiful. But, if I had to narrow it down, I would say the School of Architecture is my favorite.  The converted building is very impressive!

You’d never guess: I love to go fishing, especially for trout!  I always get an interesting reaction from people when I inform them of this.  I have formed a great bond with my dad and husband while fishing and will continue to be by the stream every opening day in April!   

Best advice: Ask questions! This is YOUR investment and YOUR future, you want to make sure you get it right.   Whether you are confirming the application process with your admissions counselor or learning more about the field from faculty, don’t be afraid to ask any and all questions you may have.