Philosophy Program Faculty

picture of faculty quote

The Philosophy Program faculty focus on developing a student's critical and independent thinking skills. The theme that runs constant throughout all philosophy course offerings is that ideas matter, that is, human history can be defined in large part by the ideas that have been promulgated by philosophers. For example, the United States Constitution would not be what it is without the ideas of the great Greek philosopher Plato, the challenging English political philosophers Thomas Hobbes and John Locke, or the French philosopher Montesquieu. The twentieth century would certainly be different were it not for the ideas of two of the nineteenth century's most prominent philosophers, Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel and Karl Marx. Critical thinking on moral issues is enhanced substantively by the ideas of influential philosophers such as Aristotle, Aquinas, Kant, Bentham, and Mill. Consequently, members of the Philosophy Program, in developing a student's critical and independent thinking, seek to make clear to students the critically important connection between ideas and the interdependent world in which they live. We welcome you to the world of ideas and the ongoing human search for the nature and meaning of life.

Full Time

Photo of Dr. Sarah Kenehan

Dr. Sarah Kenehan

Associate Professor of Philosophy/Chair
skenehan@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Philip Jenkins

Dr. Philip Jenkins

Associate Professor of Philosophy
pjenkins@marywood.edu
Photo of Dr. Aaron Simmons

Dr. Aaron Simmons

Associate Professor of Philosophy
asimmons@marywood.edu
Photo of Mary Ann Zimmer, ND, Ph.D.

Mary Ann Zimmer, ND, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
mazimmer@marywood.edu

Part Time

Caroline Andrews

Adjunct Professor of Philosophy
ceandrews@marywood.edu

Carolyn Bonacci

Adjunct Professor of Philosophy
carolynbonacci@marywood.edu

Charles Consagra

Adjunct Professor of Philosophy
consagra@marywood.edu

Bryan Dewey

Adjunct Professor of Philosophy
bdewey@marywood.edu

Andy Giessman

Adjunct Professor of Philosophy & Religious Studies
giessman@marywood.edu

Douglas Vanston

Adjunct Professor of Philosophy
dvanston@marywood.edu

David White

Adjunct Professor of Philosophy
dawhite@marywood.edu