Given the interdisciplinary nature of Marywood University's Ph.D. Program, faculty are drawn from across the University to teach in the program. Faculty from various disciplines serve as dissertation mentors, committee members, and readers and are involved in the Qualifying Examination process.

Academic Advisement Policy

All doctoral students are advised by the Ph.D. Program Director throughout the duration of the program.

Process for Scheduling Dissertation Credits

For each semester a student needs to register for Dissertation credits, the student must (in consultation with the Dissertation chair) contact the Ph.D. Program director via email (preferred) or by phone, the number of Dissertation credits to be taken in a given semester.

The Ph.D. Program Director will then put in a written request to the Registrar's office to add a section of Dissertation to the course listings, e.g., D/HP 1275, D/ED 1275 or D/HE 1275, that is dependent upon the student's specialization track. The Dissertation credits will be listed under the Dissertation chair's name as the faculty record, and the Dissertation chair is responsible for assigning a grade of "S" or "U" at the end of each semester to assess the student's progress in completing his/her Dissertation. 

The section number for the Dissertation credits will be different each semester, so the Ph.D. Program Director will advise students to look for the section of Dissertation listed under the chair's name. All students must be registered for dissertation credits by the "LAST DAY TO REGISTER/ADD COURSES."

The required number of Dissertation credits to fulfill the requirements of the Ph.D. are 9, however in the event of an extension to complete the degree, a student must remain active in the program by registering for at least 1 credit of Dissertation each subsequent semester until a successful defense is achieved.

Specialization Track Coordinators

Dr. Art Comstock

Organizational Leadership
(570) 348-6211 x2449
comstock@marywood.edu

Dr. Alice McDonnell

Health Promotion
(570) 348-6211 X 2406
mcdonnell@marywood.edu

Staff

Dr. Deborah Hokien

Program Director, Ph.D. Program in Administration & Leadership/MPA
(570) 348-6279
hokien@marywood.edu

Maureen Hart

Secretary, Administration & Leadership/MPA
(570) 348-6211 x4752
mhart@marywood.edu

Teaching Faculty

Sr. Gail Cabral

Full Professor, Psychology/Counseling
(570) 348-6211 X2346
cabral@marywood.edu

Dr. Art Comstock

Associate Professor, Business/Global Innovation
(570) 348-6211 x2449
comstock@marywood.edu

Dr. Alexander Dawoody

Assistant Professor, Administrative Studies
adawoody@marywood.edu

Dr. Lee Harrison

Full Professor, Nutrition/Dietetics
(570) 348-2611 X2303
harrisonl@marywood.edu

Dr. Philip Jenkins

Associate Professor, Philosophy
(570) 348-6211 X2972
pjenkins@marywood.edu

Dr. Alan Levine

Full Professor, Nutrition & Dietetics
(570) 348-6290
levine@marywood.edu

Dr. Lloyd Lyter

Professor of Social Work, lyter@marywood.edu

Dr. Alice McDonnell

Full Professor, Administrative Studies
(570) 348-6211 X 2406
mcdonnell@marywood.edu

Dr. Erin O'Hora

Lecturer, Nutrition & Dietetics
(570) 961-4556
eohora@marywood.edu

Dr. Amy Paciej Woodruff

Assistant Professor, Coordinator, MS Higher Education Administration Program
Ext. 2318
apaciej@marywood.edu

Dr. Joseph A. Polizzi

Associate Professor, Education
(570) 348-6211 X 2497
japolizzi@marywood.edu

Dr. Karen Rich

Associate Professor, School of Social Work/Administrative Studies
(570) 348-6211 X2395
krich@marywood.edu

Dr. Lia Richards Palmiter

Director of Diversity, Lecturer,, Administration & Leadership
lpalmiter@marywood.edu

Dr. Pietro Sasso

Lecturer (Adjunct), Administration & Leadership
pasasso@marywood.edu

Dr. Christopher J. Speicher

Associate Professor, School Business/Global Innovation, Organizational Leadership
(570) 348-6211 X2666
chrisspeicher@marywood.edu

Dr. Matthew Caputo

Lecturer (Adjunct), Administration & Leadership
mcaputo@marywood.edu

Dr. Diane DellaValle

Associate Professor, Nutrition & Dietetics
(570) 348-6211 X2477
ddellavalle@marywood.edu

John M. Hart, III, Esq.

Lecturer (Adjunct), Administration & Leadership
(570) 689-1529
jmhart@marywood.edu

Dr. John Risboskin

Lecturer (Adjunct), Education
risboskin@marywood.edu

Dr. Richard Clark

Lecturer (Adjunct), Education
rclark@marywood.edu

Dr. Lori Swanchak

Clinical Director, Physician Assistant
(570) 961-4711
swanchak@marywood.edu