Alumni Award Winners Announced

Published on Wed, November 02, 2011

The Sr. M. Denis Donegan Award for Long Term Service to Marywood is the most prestigious
award bestowed by the Marywood Alumni Association. It is bestowed on alumni of Marywood
University who have provided a minimum of 25 years of service to Marywood and who,
through their personal and professional contributions, have visibly embodied Marywood's
mission by using their Marywood educations in ways that demonstrate the University's call to
live responsibly in a diverse and interdependent world. The actions and contributions of each
recipient shall support Marywood University's core values of a Catholic Identity, Respect for Each Person, Empowerment, Service and Commitment to Excellence, and this year’s recipient,

Patricia Kucab Horvath ’57 & ’69 of Manalapan, NJ, is certainly deserving of this honor.

Awards for Excellence are bestowed by the Marywood University Alumni Association upon
alumni who have demonstrated achievement within their profession or personal accomplishment
that embodies the core values of Marywood University. To recognize the professional
achievements or personal accomplishments of Marywood alumni who have pursued a course of
study in one of Marywood's four colleges, the awards of excellence have been bestowed to the
following recipients:

  • Excellence in Creative and Performing Arts - Dr. Paulette Posluszny Merchel '69 of Archbald, PA
  • Excellence in Education and Human Development – Dr. Suzanne Vanston Speicher ’72 of Rockville, MD
  • Excellence in Health and Human Services - Ann Cooney Newswanger '57 of Cranford, NJ
  • Excellence in Liberal Arts and Sciences - Kathryn Lynott Oursler ’72 of Laurel, MD

Attend the Awards Luncheon during Reunion Weekend to congratulate all of our award wnners. Look for a more detailed biography of each of the recipients in the Fall Edition of the Marywood Magazine. The Alumni Association wishes all of them heartfelt congratulations and best wishes!