Marywood University Awarded $100,000 Hunger-Free Communities Grant

Published on Mon, April 18, 2011

Marywood University in collaboration with 21 community organizations was awarded a $100,000 Hunger-Free Communities grant from the United States Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Services. The consortium was one of only 14 grants awarded in the country out of over 200 applications. The purpose of this project will be for the community to collaborate on a plan improve access to nutritious food through research, planning, and implementation of hunger relief activities. Principal Investigators from Marywood include: Dr. Joanne Christaldi, Dr. Gerald Zavorsky, and Dr. Lee Harrison.





First Row (left to right): Linda Steier, Meals on Wheels; Dr. Joanne Christaldi, Assistant Professor of Nutrition and Dietetics, Marywood University; Sr. John Michele Southwick, IHM, Assistant Director of Campus Ministry, Marywood University; Sr. Ann Walsh, Friends of the Poor.

Second Row (left to right): Deb Peterson, Voluntary Action Center, Christopher Doherty, Lackawanna CAO; Rich Kurtz, Weinberg Regional Food Bank; Peg Kopko, United Way of Lackawanna and Wayne Counties.