Chronological History of Marywood

Mother M. Germaine ONeill Mother M. Casimir Murray Mother Mary William Craig Mother M. Josepha Hurley Sister M. Marcella Gill Sister M. Sylvia Morgan Sister M. Eugenia Kealey Sister M. St. Mary Orr Sister M. Coleman Nee Sister Mary Reap Sister Anne Munley
<< 1939 1940 1941 1942 1943 >>
1941

Dorothy Day, editor of The Catholic Worker, discusses her experiences among the poor in a visiting lecture.
1941

McCarty Hall, a newly-built management house absolutely required by the Home Economics Department to maintain its accreditation, is dedicated, November. The two-and-a-half-story Colonial home is the first building at Marywood financed by private philanthropy, the gift of Ellen McCarty in memory of her brother George. It becomes the practice house in which students majoring in Vocational Home Economics live, six at a time, for a period of six weeks, receiving hands-on experience in the art and science of running a household. The students take turns acting as hostess, cook, assistant cook, housekeeper, laundress and waitress, thereby completing state requirements for their degrees and certification.
1941

The International Relations Club and its companion group, the Sienna Social Forum, host a Tri-college Conference at Marywood, welcoming students from The University of Scranton and College Misericordia to a discussion of international civil and social problems. The IRC members of both Marywood and The University of Scranton also cooperate in a series of round-table discussions on WARM radio.
1941

The Marywood Players stage productions of The School for Scandal and Ladies in Retirement.
1941

Representatives of Marywood and The University of Scranton design and ride together on a float in a downtown parade celebrating the centenary of the city.