student quote

The NCATE accreditation process has two primary components: the unit review and the program review. The unit is the school, college or department of education.  A program is a discipline-specific component within the unit.

The standards for program review are developed by specialized professional associations (SPAs) and describe what professionals in the field should know and be able to do.  Programs at Marywood University are nationally recognized by their SPAs.

Nationally Recognized Programs in the School of Education

Early Childhood Education

naeyc logo

Elementary Education

acei logo

Reading Specialist

IRA logo

Special Education

CEC logo

Educational Leadership - Building (Principal), Educational Leadership - District (Superintendent), and Supervisor

NPBEA logo

Nationally Recognized Programs in Other Programs in the Unit


NCTE logo


NCTM logo


nsta logo

Social Studies 

NCSS logo

Physical Education

NASPE logo