National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)

Students in Class

Architecture Accreditation

In the United States, most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may consist of a pre-professional undergraduate degree and a professional graduate degree that, when earned sequentially, constitute an accredited professional education. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

In order to meet the education requirement set forth by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards, an applicant for an NCARB Certificate must hold a professional degree in architecture from a program accredited by the NAAB; the degree must have been awarded not more than two years prior to initial accreditation. However, meeting the education requirement for the NCARB Certificate may not be equivalent to meeting the education requirement for registration in a specific jurisdiction. Please contact NCARB for more information.

The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) requires architecture programs to make the Architecture Program Reports (APR's) and the Visiting Team Reports (VTR's) available to the public in electronic form.  These may be found at the links below.  If you have any questions, please contact Jim Sullivan, Dean, School of Architecture, at

NAAB Accreditation Supplemental Materials

  1. School of Architecture NAAB Course Descriptions
  2. School of Architecture Studio Culture Policy
  3. School of Architecture Self-Assessment Policies and Objectives
  4. Marywood University Academic Integrity Policy
  5. Marywood University Resource Policies including collection development
  6. Marywood University Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action Policies and Procedures
  7. Marywood University Human Resource Development for faculty and professional staff
  8. School of Architecture Faculty Scholarship List
  9. Marywood University Faculty Appointment, Promotion and Tenure
  10. Marywood University 2016-2021 Strategic Plan
  11. School of Architecture Strategic Plan
  12. School of Architecture Faculty Bylaws
  13. School of Architecture Diversity and Inclusion Plan

Career Development Information

ARE Pass Rates

The Architect Registration Examination (ARE) assesses a candidate’s knowledge, skills, and abilities and is used by all U.S. registration boards and the Canadian provincial architectural associations as the examination for those seeking architectural licensing.

Exam Pass Rates